Just in

TEASER TUESDAY: BAY OF FIRES

teaserThere were five scenarios that Hall had listed in his notebook. Chloe was run over on the old road and fell down a steep embankment; possible, but where was the body? Tasmanian devils were capable of eating an entire corpse, bones, hair, and clothing. But where was the surfboard? – Bay of Fires (p124) by Poppy Gee

I just started Bay of Fires last night and I’m finding it quite a different read to others I’ve read recently. There’s a lot of focus on creating a sense of place. I’ll be posting my review soon, but in the meantime, here’s a blurb:

When the body of a backpacker washes ashore in an idyllic small town in Tasmania, the close-knit community starts to fall apart. As long-buried secrets start to come out, the delicate balance of their fragile lives is threatened…

Deep in a national park on the east coast of Tasmania, the Bay of Fires is an idyllic holiday community. There are no more than a dozen shacks beside the lagoon – and secrets are hard to keep; 9780755387847the intimacy of other people’s lives is their nourishment. The fact that Sarah Avery has returned, having left her boyfriend and her job, is cause for gossip in itself. Then, the bikini-clad body of a young girl is found washed up on the beach a year after another teenage girl went missing. Journalist Hall Flynn is sent to the coast to investigate, and all too quickly the close-knit community turns in on itself.

Sound good? Is it the kind of book you’d pick up?

♦♦♦

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

8 Comments on TEASER TUESDAY: BAY OF FIRES

  1. Great teaser and I love the cover art – awesome colours 🙂 Here is my TT: http://pamelasbookspot.blogspot.com.au/2013/04/tuesday-56-dance-of-shadows-by-yelena.html

    Like

  2. Good teaser, sounds interesting. Here’s ours: http://ourstack.blogspot.com/2013/04/tuesday-teasers-two-today.html.

    Like

  3. Ha! I guess I shouldn’t laugh, but the “where is the surfboard” bit did make me chuckle.

    Like

  4. Sounds good! Thanks for sharing….and here’s MY TUESDAY MEMES POST

    Like

  5. I learned something new from your Teaser — Tasmanian devils can eat an entire corpse!
    My Teaser is from THE FORTUNE QUILT.

    Like

  6. Tiffany Drew // 02/04/2013 at 11:49 PM // Reply

    Definitely gonna have to check this one out, I hadn’t heard of it before. Thanks for sharing!

    My Teaser

    Like

  7. I love it when secrets slowly start to come out and I love your teaser!

    Thanks for sharing and thanks for stopping by my TT earlier.

    Have a great week ahead and happy reading! 😀

    Sarika @ The Readdicts

    Like

Thanks for commenting. I also have an author site and Facebook page - Monique Mulligan Author - if you'd like to check them out.